The Lutheran Church Missouri Synod, with 2.5 million baptized members, ranks as the second largest Lutheran church body in North America and the 11th largest denomination in the USA.  On April 26, 1847 12 pastors representing 15 congregations signed a constitution that established "The German Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio and Other States."  Today, the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod (the names was shortened on it's 100th anniversary) has 6,150 congregations served by more than 9,000 professional church workers.  The word "Synod" in The Lutheran church Missouri Synod came from the Greek words that mean "walking together."  It has rich meaning in our church body because the congregations voluntarily choose to belong to the Synod.  Diverse in their service, these congregations hold to a shared confession of Jesus Christ as taught in Holy Scriptures and the Lutheran Confessions.

You may also view additional information about the Synod and the Lutheran Faith at